SOLWorld

Sharing and building Solution Focused practice in organisations

Hi folks - had an interesting one this week about how deeply my SF learning as gone and the speed at which I can work.

I notice a relationship about learning a skill and how quickly/slowly this becomes "my style" ( I hang around with a lot of musicians and see this in action). I've learnt my coaching approach through donkey's years of individual work (Rogerian - I used to be a Social Worker), supporting managers in difficulty (god knows what I was using here - some best practice/common sense HR approach) and other coaching models. Over the last couple of years it's the SF stuff which floats my boat fro reasons that you'll understand.

I have a format for the SF coaching which won't be unfamiliar to you. Over the last couple of weeks I've been working with a director in a medium sized private company who seems VERY HUNGRY for his own learning and really likes to work fast. The 90 mins goes very quickly and we seem to be working on 6 things at once. As well as helping him to be fully aware and utilising his leadership strengths he is seeking different ways of understanding his situation and in many ways wants a chance to consider the leadership models that are out there (this will probably lead me onto another thread - why am I disappointed when I'm not as SF as I'd like to be....)

The thing is that I've got no time to reflect with this guy, no time to frame questions as carefully as I'd like, it just comes blurting out - in jazz music terms it's an improvisation rather than a structured solo (and I'm perhaps more comfortable with a bit of both)

It's going really well though - he and his company love it and I'm likely to get further work : - )

Anyone else relate to this? Best hopes - I don't know, just want to hear that others have experienced this and get their thoughts

Views: 110

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Phil